Persistent SQL injection attempts

Networking/Security Forums -> Databases

Author: markosaurus PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: Persistent SQL injection attempts
    ----
Hi there,

This is my first time in here, so hi to everyone, and sorry for my first post being to ask for help Embarassed

I ama professional PHP developer and as such I can get by coding. What I'm not the best at is server admin.

I have a dedicated server which I use for clients, it got hacked a few months back via some little **** using an SQL injection attack on a site we had taken over from another company , stupidly we had not gone through and checked the code.

This meant we had to implement our hacking contingency plan, which includes nuking the server completely and rebuilding everything on it. (We had obviously backed everything up first so we could check logs/re-install sites afterwards)

We then re-installed our sites, and pored over the logs until we found the point-of-entry, which turned out to be an escalation of privileges attack. This was sorted out immediately and everything was scanned for other vulnerabilities. We also hardened up security by putting in place a script which searches for injection attempts and emails the admin when an injection attempt is detected.

This was months ago, we still get some 50-1000 of these emails a day, which is obviously a ridiculous situation to be in. Looking at the queries which are being run (they get emailed also), they're all very similar attacks (which fail BTW). My main concern now is that it can only be a matter of time before they discover another way in and we start all over again.

Is there a logical procedure to follow to stop what is obviously an automated and systematic attack on our server, or to track down the culprit (we think we may have already done so, but would like confirmation of this through other means.)

Any help would be massively appreciated.

TIA