• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Security Forums

FAQ | Usergroups | Profile | Register | RSS | Posting Guidelines | Recent Posts

New to Mac. Need help networking with PC.

Users browsing this topic:0 Security Fans, 0 Stealth Security Fans
Registered Security Fans: None
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly version    Networking/Security Forums Index -> Macintosh

View previous topic :: View next topic  
manis
Just Arrived
Just Arrived

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:22 pm    Post subject: New to Mac. Need help networking with PC. Reply with quote

Hello.
I'm new to Mac. I need help with the following.
I bought an Ibook. I have a PC. Right now the PC and Ibook are on a wireless network. So far so good.
What I would like to do is the following.
I need to be able to use my PC keyboard, mouse and montior for both the PC and Ibook. Is that possible at all?
I have a KVM cable (2 Terminal) that I can use to hook up the monitor via the Video out port. What about the KB and mouse?
BTW, both the KB and mouse are wirelessly connected to the PC. If that matters at all.

If there's a way that I can accomplish this without buying more stuff, that would be great! Maybe there's a way I can use the wireless network to do this? Like sharing the drive?
The_Real_Gandalf
Trusted SF Member
Trusted SF Member

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not think that you will be able to do much with present hardware....
Neither with present software...

Unless you have MacOS X set on your ibook , you wont even be able to share files over network....

With a switch for your k/b and mouse (which should be connected to your switch with a bluetooth or ir/DA flash device , on your comps) yo should be ok...

MAC -----(bluetooth or ir/DA)----KB-MOUSE SWITCH----(Bltooth-ir/da)----PC

hope this help you out

Gandalf
AdamV
SF Mod
SF Mod

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote